Almost Amish {Second Review}

TECHNOLOGY

“Technology serves as a tool and does not rule as a master.”

Again this week I am joining Rachel over at Crimson to Wool to share about chapter 2 of Almost Amish by Nancy Sleeth. I am a day late, but I couldn’t help blogging about my Handsome Hubby yesterday, on his birthday.

I’m not sure why, but I was having a harder time finding action points for our family in regards to technology. I love that the Amish have loosed their attachment to technology. Maybe it is because I have a general unease about technology. I am still, after 5, technology heavy, undergrad years, entirely inept at technology. I have also felt a creepy unease about the F-word (Facebook) and the ability it has to make you feel so alone even though the screen claims that you have 629 friends. Given the world we live in I would say that we are a pretty technologically void household. Perhaps it is because my hubby stares at a computer all day at work, plugging in the moment he gets home is the last thing on his list. Yes, I realize that I am blogging in a social media avenue on a laptop while sitting in a Coffee Bean enjoying the luxuries of wi-fi and air conditioning, but I am obviously a work in progress. I do believe that the line we walk between convenience and control is very thin in our culture. We don’t have a TV in our room because we believe that our room should be a place for us not for the 352 channels that our direcTV offers. Yes we have direcTV. We love our DVR. We love that we can record the shows we like, watch them when we want to watch and fast forward through commercials. The TV is only on if we are watching and we usually don’t watch until late into the evening, after we have eaten dinner, done the dishes and taken a walk. As of right this moment I am not convicted about the presence of a TV in our living room.

The thing that was getting me was my iPhone. I LOVE my iPhone. Seriously though, talk about ease and simplicity. All on one device smaller than my wallet, I have a camera, a Bible, a map, a notepad, a to-do list,  contacts and, of course, the internet. But that is if I can find my phone, have it on, etc. I am notoriously bad about my phone. I often leave it in the car when I am at home or at work. I turn it on silent, then it lives in the bottom of my purse for days. Really my cell phone is more of  an annoyance to those trying to get a hold of me. But put me in an awkward social situation and I find that puppy in no time flat and pretend that I am so busy on it that I couldn’t possibly initiate a conversation with someone whom I do not know. I have tried to be deliberate lately about deleting the apps on my phone that I go to when I am bored or feel uncomfortable in a social situation to force myself to listen to the birds or talk to someone new.

We have tried to make boundaries with technology in our house. No technology between 5 and 7:30. No phone in the bedroom unless we need to wake up at different times. No phones on date night. No TV in the bedroom. But even with all of these rules, I think that the real issue, like in anything, is how our hearts relate to our technology. If I hear my phone buzz and don’t check it immediately, I become anxious. What if something really important is happening? And despite all of the rules we have put in place, I cannot focus on what I am doing until I check it. So I think that is my action point for the week. I am going to do some serious heart checks and ask the Lord to remove that anxiety that technology can cause in my heart. Because if I am following the Amish’s example I am the master of technology, it is not the master of me. And frankly, I have a sneaking suspicion that I am letting it be the boss of me.

Leave a Reply

