Tasty Tuesday Meets My Week 10 {late edition}

In the past week two of my close friends have welcomed new babies into their homes and our lives. Last Thursday, our friends Scott and Jenny had sweet Addison June, our first Growth Group baby. And on Sunday, Rachel one of my college roommates had a little boy, Carson Paul, the first baby in that group as well. As you may or may not know, I love cooking and baking and feeding people for the simple reason that it is such an easy way for me to meet a basic need for people. A tangible way to love. I love the simplicity of bringing dinner to a new family and the opportunity it gives me to hold the new peanut 🙂 So today I thought that I would share my favorite dinner with you, one because it is a great meal to bring to new moms, especially one with picky eaters in tow, and two because I can no longer eat it and someone should be enjoying this cheesy goodness.

Mac & Cheese

Kosher salt

1 lb. spiral pasta

1 qt. milk

8 T butter

½ c flour

4 c Gruyere cheese

2 c cheddar

½ t pepper

½ t nutmeg

¾ lb tomatoes

1½  bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cook macaroni and drain well.

Meanwhile, heat the milk in a small saucepan, but don’t boil it.  Melt 6 T of butter in a large pot and add the flour.  Cook over low heat for 2 minutes, stirring with a whisk.  While whisking, add the hot milk and cook for a minute or two more, until thickened and smooth.  Off the heat, add the Gruyere, cheddar, 1 T salt, pepper, and nutmeg.  Add the cooked macaroni and stir well.  Pour into a baking dish.

Slice the tomatoes and arrange on top.  Melt the remaining 2 T of butter, combine them with the fresh bread crumbs, and sprinkle on the top.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the sauce is bubbly and the macaroni is browned on the top.

Seriously people, make this tonight, you will not regret it!

My Week Ten

At church we are going through the book of James and on Sunday, we unpacked the idea of endurance. That by definition the Christian life is one of endurance, waiting until the risen Jesus comes back and takes us out of this broken world we are living in. Let me tell you I have felt that waiting lately. I have been so overwhelmed with the brokenness of this world and the sin that so easily entangles. I find myself asking why we have to endure, why Jesus told us of the things to come and then just left us. I confessed yesterday that it seemed a bit unfair, this waiting. But then my sweet husband reminded me that we were left for a reason, there is a life to be lived. Jesus told us of the things to come so that we would not give up hope when faced with the utter brokenness, but then He left us with a life that needs to be lived and lived by us. That there are people around us who we need to love, tasks that we need to see finished and a gospel that is to be spread.

With those words the Lord showed me the ways that He’s has been laying that on my heart for a couple of months now. While reading Kisses from Katie, I have been so aware that we are not promised tomorrow, but we are given today. The Mary Oliver quote “What are you going to do with your one wild and precious life,” has been on replay in my brain for weeks now. And the weightiness that this is all we are given, this one life, one day, one hour, is the only chance we are promised to make a difference this side of eternity. This is our “one wild and precious” opportunity to live as people fully redeemed and fully loved amidst the brokenness of our world. This morning I am renewed by this thought and oddly freed from responsibility by it.

Kelle Hampton on her blog yesterday made a My Week 10 list in an effort to fully live and experience this week. I am going to join her in this, because I don’t want to miss this week. Don’t think from the paragraph above that this is going to be all spiritual and world changing, but I hope that it will help me fully live this one life that the Creator of the Universe has given me and that in one or two of these things I will make someone smile and know that they are loved.

  1. Make Mac & Cheese to welcome baby Addie
  2. Do something special to celebrate getting engaged two years ago tomorrow
  3. Dance the night away at Shelley’s wedding with the Bible Study girls I got to lead for four years
  4. Make a camping reservation for just Hubby and I sometime this summer (I have a sneaking suspicion that I am too late for this, but we will see)
  5. Go to the beach
  6. Go on an adventure with my Hubby
  7. BBQ for memorial day
  8. Start my 2011 scrapbook
  9. Get sunglasses so that I can enjoy the beach/see the wedding
  10. Hang my photo wall in the living room

Even though it is Tuesday… thank you Jesus for this week and the opportunity to thrive in your love!

Leave a Reply

