Garden Beginnings

Over the weekend my hubby worked really hard to build me garden beds so that I could get them planted before we went to visit my parents this weekend. He was a maniac, helping sweet friends paint and move, being my hot date to a beautiful wedding and building two 12ftx4ft garden beds. And yesterday I got to do the fun work and plant them. It was the first time I have ever planted a garden by myself. When I was little we would help my dad plant and one time my brother and I got to pick out terra cotta pots and plant them with whatever we wanted, then it was our job to keep it alive. Mine was in the shape of a pig, I have no idea what I put in it, but my mom now has succulents living in the pigs back. I must have at least cherished the pig because it is still kicking it at my parents house, my brothers on the other hand became target practice I believe shortly after coming home with us. You see my brother and I displayed our personalities very early. I am a nurturer, and my brother is more of a hunter. I like to think we could have kept our family alive on the Oregon Trail, which my parents had to ban from the house because the first time we played, my dad named all of the characters after our family and my “mom” died… I was crying so hard I couldn’t pull it together even with my MOM comforting me. Anywho, quite the rabbit trail.

Back to my garden beds. Yesterday I went to the nursery with my trusty guide in hand The Heirloom Life Gardener. I borrowed mine from the library, but it is so beautiful that I think it will be making it to my library soon. I bought some seedlings and some seeds, talked to the Organic Gardening teacher and came home to put all of my research to work.

I outlined my bed with onions, apparently the smell deters creepy crawlies.

I planted yellow marigolds on the ends to attract bees. Even though I really could not stand the Jerry Seinfeld Bee Movie, I found myself wanting to jump right on their soap box with them and fight for the bees.

I lined my tomatoes up on one side and gave them the old Florida Weave to support their vines that will hopefully be laden with fruit come summer time.

I nestled my lettuces in the shade of my tomatoes, to give them the “partial sun” they requested.

I hilled up dirt and planted butternut and acorn squash seeds for winter.

I placed my corn in a block because they are wind pollinated and in a single line, they can’t pollinate each other.

I lined my carrots and parsnips up with my onions because they like to co-planted.

I put melon in a mound on the end so that it could run down the edges of the bed, they like to crawl down and it makes harvesting it easier for me. Really a win-win I’d say.

I then gently watered my beds. Water directly on the seeds, under the leaves of the tomato plants, and misted on the leaves of the lettuce. I then said a lot of prayers and warned Skye that if she dug up my beds she would really regret it. I am so excited to see what happens and equally grateful. Excited that if everything goes to plan, which I have been assured that it won’t we could be vegetable-sufficient Urban Homesteaders for the summer. Grateful that if everything doesn’t go to plan, which I have been assured that it won’t we can very easily go to the farmer’s market and buy vegetables, a luxury that the pioneer homesteaders did not have.

Leave a Reply

